A bright Monday morning on a dull, grey day…


Everyone writes a blog about Mondays… how depressing they are, how this and how that… and I generally tend to agree with them. In fact I might even go so far as to say, I wholeheartedly agree with them. We have all had a well deserved break over the weekend and its back to the grindstone, back to the day job and (hopefully) one week closer to retirement as an ex-colleague used to say.

Not so today.

Having woken up a little worse for wear after a heavy weekend and in dire need of my morning caffeine and nicotine fix, I realised that I hadn’t written a post for a few days. So I quickly put the coffee on the stove (call me old fashioned, but I love my old stove and making coffee the old traditional Italian way with an espresso maker) and sat and looked out of the window while the chocolatey-coffee smell percolated through the kitchen and lulled me into a bubbling and sputtering pre-caffeine reverie.

It was a dull, grey day, reminiscent of a depressing morning in Milton Keynes or some such soulless concrete town in south England, built in the latter half of the last century (we have a great many of these  – I know not why). You know the ones, where everything, especially the concrete is a dull brown-grey colour that soaks up light and even makes other colours get a brownish-greyish hue. Made all the more grey by endless drizzle and overcast skies.

People were wandering down the road in a hurry as is usual, wanting to get the day over with so they could feel the worst was almost over, when suddenly this little girl in her pink overcoat and a matching rucksack on her back caught my eye. She was jauntily wandering down the street, next to her mother, with a skip and a hop, not a care in the world, looking forward to seeing her friends in kindergarten and playing and painting and doing all the things that kids do…

It really put a smile on my face… just seeing her innocent happiness contrasted with her mother’s exasperated look, hurrying her on.

The little girl was smiling, sometimes running to catch her mother up, sometimes stopping to do up a button on her coat. Completely care free and oh-so-happy.

And so, my Monday morning started with a smile. I don’t know if it is me, or the fact that nowadays, when I am writing more, the smallest things make me smile and reflect on something cheerful…

3 comments

Leave a Reply

